What is Origins?

The Excellence Cluster Origins investigates the development of the Universe from the Big Bang to the emergence of life. The interdisciplinary research network has been funded within the framework of the Excellence Strategy of the German Federation and the Länder since January 2019 and builds on the research achievements of the Excellence Cluster Universe (2006-2018), which has attracted worldwide attention.

Origins uniquely combines the disciplines of astrophysics, biophysics and particle physics to search for the connection between planet formation and the formation of the first prebiotic molecules. Among other things, the scientists want to show that life is the product of a natural process, a logical outcome of the evolution of the universe - which can be understood based on the laws of physics and chemistry and the initial conditions created by the Big Bang.

The Ludwigs-Maximillians-Universität (LMU), the Technical University of Munich (TUM), five Max Planck Institutes, the European Southern Observatory (ESO) and the Leibniz Computing Centre (LRZ) are involved in the Excellence Cluster Origins.

 

The Grand Research Challenges of Origins

  • What is the nature and structure of matter and the forces governing it?

  • How did the Universe form and evolve?

  • How did its complex structures from the cosmic web to galaxies, stars and planets form?

  • How did the building blocks from “atoms” to “prebiotic molecules” emerge?

  • How did life originate on Earth and is there life elsewhere?

Was ist Origins?

„Vom Ursprung des Universums bis zu den ersten Bausteinen des Lebens“

Der Exzellenzcluster Origins befasst sich mit der Entwicklung des Universums vom Urknall bis zur Entstehung des Lebens. Der interdisziplinäre Forschungsverbund wird im Rahmen der Exzellenzstrategie des Bundes und der Länder seit Januar 2019 gefördert und baut auf den weltweit beachteten Forschungsleistungen des Exzellenzclusters Universe (2006-2018) auf.

Origins verknüpft auf einzigartige Weise die Fachrichtungen Astrophysik, Biophysik und Teilchenphysik, um beispielsweise nach dem Zusammenhang zwischen der Planetenbildung und der Entstehung der ersten präbiotischen Moleküle zu suchen. Unter anderem wollen die Wissenschaftler zeigen, dass Leben ein natürlicher Prozess ist, der zur Entwicklung des Universums gehört – und nach den Gesetzen von Physik und Chemie aus den Anfangsbedingungen des Urknalls heraus verständlich ist.

Am Exzellenzcluster Origins sind die Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität (LMU), die Technische Universität München (TUM), fünf Max-Planck-Institute, die Europäische Südsternwarte (ESO) sowie das Leibniz-Rechenzentrum (LRZ) beteiligt.

Die großen Herausforderungen von Origins

  • Welche Art und Struktur besitzt Materie und welche Kräfte bestimmen sie?
  • Wie hat sich das Universum geformt und entwickelt?
  • Wie entstanden seine komplexen Strukturen vom kosmischen Netz über Galaxien, Sterne und Planeten?
  • Wie sind die Bausteine von "Atomen" zu "präbiotischen Molekülen" entstanden?
  • Wie ist das Leben auf der Erde entstanden und gibt es auch anderswo Leben?